Brian T. Atkinson

Brian T. Atkinson is currently working on The Messenger: The Songwriting Legacy of Ray Wylie Hubbard (Texas A&M University Press, Fall 2019). Atkinson is the author of I'll Be Here in the Morning: The Songwriting Legacy of Townes Van Zandt (TAMU Press, 2012) and co-author with Jenni Finlay of Kent Finlay Dreamer: The Musical Legacy of Cheatham Street Warehouse (TAMU Press, 2016). Additionally, Atkinson contributed chapters on Hayes Carll and Terri Hendrix to the recent Pickers and Poets: The Ruthlessly Poetic Singer-Songwriters of Texas (TAMU Press, 2016) as well as chapters on Rodney Crowell, Ben Folds, Ben Nichols (Lucero) and Josh Ritter to Song: The World's Best Songwriters on Creating the Music That Moves Us (Writer's Digest Books, 2007).  Atkinson and Finlay co-own Eight 30 Records, Burgundy Red Films, BarnWood Recording Studio and the Austin-based bi-monthly concert series Catfish Concerts. The pair has produced Cold and Bitter Tears: The Songs of Ted Hawkins, Dreamer: A Tribute to Kent Finlay, Highway Prayer: A Tribute to Adam Carroll, The Polished Steel Sessions, Danny Barnes' Got Myself Together (Ten Years Later), and Floater: A Tribute to the Tributes to Gary Floater for Eight 30 Records. Eight 30 Records has also released Emily Herring's Gliding and Chris Fullerton's Epilepsy Blues. Atkinson contributed liner notes to each as well as the Grammy-nominated This One's for Him: A Tribute to Guy Clark (Music Road, 2011).  Over the past twenty years, Atkinson has written frequently for, Austin American-Statesman, American Songwriter, Texas Music, Lone Star Music, No Depression, Relix, Paste, Maverick Country and several other music magazines. His “For the Sake of the Song: The Outlaws of Americana,” an exhibit of live concert photography, has shown in Austin, Denver and Seattle. Atkinson's work is archived at the Wittliff Collections at Texas State University in San Marcos.